What's on


Naar een nieuwe wereld

14 aug • 15 augBuy tickets

The National Youth Orchestra of The Netherlands (NJO) has its summer home base in the Muziekzomer Gelderland in which it will bring several programmes with different musicians. Naar een nieuwe wereld (Towards a new world) is the symphonic programme of the NJO led by conductor Alexandre Bloch which will be performed both at the summer festival and in Het Concertgebouw in Amsterdam. When the members of the orchestra reunite after a long time this summer, they will present a programme that radiates the desire for a free world. On the music stands will be both the well know West Side Story as Coplands Appalachian Spring Suite, a work of which the composer said it ‘has to do with youth and spring as well as with optimism and hope.’ The concert will close with Dvorák's Ninth Symphony, which he named 'From the New World' due to the fact that he wrote the work during his stay in the United States. Do we need to say more?


National Youth Orchestra of The Netherlands (NJO)
Conductor: Alexandre Bloch

Leonard Bernstein Symphonic Dances from West Side Story
Aaron Copland Appalachian Spring Suite*
Antonín Dvořák Symphony no. 9 in e, opus 95

*) not in Het Concertgebouw

The NJO will play this concert in Orpheus Theatre in Apeldoorn and in Het Concertgebouw in Amsterdam. 

NB. The concerts are only accessible with a corona test certificate. Please read how this works at the website of Het Concertgebouw for the concerts on August 14th and on the website of the Muziekzomer Gelderland (Dutch only) for the concert on August 15th.

This website uses cookies.

only functional cookies  I agree

Please read out Privacy and cookies Statement for more information.